PDA

View Full Version : Mythology!

Night Fury
01-20-2014, 09:34 AM
Ta daaaa! Mythology!

I can probably bet a lot of you are total Mythology geeks! What are your favs?

Do you have any Gods/Goddesses that you identify with?

I love Greek and Egyptian mythology. I used to be fascinated by Ancient Egypt as a kiddo, and when I started studying Greek philosophy in my teens I feel more in love with Greek Mythology too. I just think the stories are so interesting, I love seeing films about mythology, or using some of the themes.

Part of the reason I loved Tomb Raider TLR is because it was sooooo Egypt centris. Amazing! I think I'm going to change my av and sig set to the Greek Goddess Artemis for a bit, so if anyone wants to jump on a Mythology kick then join in! :D

Shauna
01-20-2014, 09:52 AM
Egyptian mythology was definitely where it started for me too, but since then it has leaked to all sorts of facets of ancient culture. It has been a long time since I've had a dig into this particular fascination of mine, should probably get some readin' and learnin' on soon.

Or play Age of Mythology, w/e.

Ayen
01-20-2014, 10:00 AM
Greek mostly. I watched a lot of Hercules and Xena growing up as a kid and Sailor Moon is heavily inspired by the mytho if I remember right. Don't have a god or anything I really identify with, but I haven't thought about it that hard.

Rostum
01-20-2014, 10:04 AM
I love Egyptian mythology and ancient history, it's why I fell in love with the Stargate movie and SG-1 straight away. I also like other culture's mythology too, especially Greek.

However, for some strange reason I am more highly inclined to Arabic and Persian mythology overall.

Parker
01-20-2014, 10:42 AM
people wearing dragon shirts and waving swords around have ruined mythology for me and ripped from it any appeal it might once have had

Night Fury
01-20-2014, 10:48 AM