PDA

View Full Version : Right Arm

Bubba
03-01-2014, 11:11 AM
What the hell is the deal with this item?

I remember getting really excited when I picked one up at Battle Square. Finally, Barrett will be able to live a normal life! He can put down his gun arm, give Marlene a nice big hug... maybe he'll mellow a little?

What does the Right Arm do? Explosive damage to all opponents.

Now, I studied biology whilst at school. Mrs. Wall never once mentioned that the human right arm is unstable... and can be used to inflict mass damage on multiple enemies. Maybe they didn't want students chopping of their arms to test the theory, I don't know.

Poor Barrett... still unable to tie his shoelaces. Did anyone else think the same thing whilst playing?

Jiro
03-02-2014, 02:08 AM
I figured Barret wore combat wellies.

But you're right (pun intended); the right arm item is very strange, and likely a mistranslation. Of what, I haven't the foggiest though.

Mercen-X
03-02-2014, 06:02 AM
From a serious point of view, the Right Arm is likely actually the right arm of one of the various robots running around the world (which usually has guns or cannons in place of arms). Another item that is confusing is the 8-Inch Cannon. How can one throw a cannon? How does a cannon just explode? How useful could a cannon that is 8-Inches be in a battle?

Skyblade
03-03-2014, 03:11 PM
Well, pulling from series lore, the item in question is usually referred to as a "Bomb Arm". Quoting from the Bravely Default encyclopedia (I seriously love that encyclopedia):

Bomb Arm

The right arm of a bomb, a creature that went extinct back in the Age of Myths. It has been completely mummified and a cursed sigil placed upon it. It has the slight smell of gunpowder, but its effect is guaranteed.

Deals major fire damage to all enemies (or allies).

So it is the Right Arm of a Bomb, a fire based beast that explodes on its own already.