PDA

View Full Version : Classic Literature You Hate

Forsaken Lover
03-12-2014, 09:12 PM
I'm hardly in any position to judge literary quality. I just have a high school education and I mainly read books for more surface enjoyment. Complex themes and ideas, whether the prose was well-done(I don't even know if that phrase makes sense) - all that crap means nothing to me. I just want to have fun and kill time.

As a layman, I have a deferential attitude to older, well-respected books. Who am I to criticize their merits or place in history?

However it seems I'm alone in this general approach. I was reading a topic elsewhere about "The Worst Books Ever" and a fellow named a few pieces of literature I had only ever heard a lot of praise for or were part of school curriculum - namely Ulysses, The Scarlet Letter and The Giver.

So then, what books of much renown do you dislike? And why?

I'm just gonna go ahead and say The Catcher in the Rye. Never read it but my god, I've never seen such teeth-clenched hatred for an old book like that.

Shorty
03-12-2014, 09:37 PM
I have nothing to contribute about classics because I have not read any classics that I hate. I also have not read many classics because I rarely attended class in high school and haven't bothered picking them up since, so, there you go.

As far as books of much renown go, though, The Outsiders gets my vote. I cannot understand why that book is so damn loved everywhere. It is a terrible, stupid, awful book.

Scotty_ffgamer
03-12-2014, 10:09 PM
I feel like there are more classic short stories I had to read in college that I didn't like, but I can't really remember what they were. Oh! Bartleby the Scrivener by Herman Melville. I couldn't stand that little story!