PDA

View Full Version : Tales of Xillia

Pumpkin
07-05-2014, 01:05 AM
Just got this today and played about an hour! I'm not very good with the arts and remembering which ability is assigned where. Seems like a fun day so far. I'm looking forward to seeing one of the characters I saw in the opening. Red dress girl at the beginning was kinda random o_O?

Any tips or advice for me? Or any general discussion can also go here!

The only other tales game I've played is Symphonia but not for very long at all.

Vyk
07-05-2014, 03:41 AM
I played Destiny and Symphonia, and never beat either of them. They were really good, but just failed to keep my interest. My girlfriend and I played through Xillia and even after beating it, I couldn't get enough. I'm super glad a sequel is almost here. The fighting is much faster than the other games. And the characters are well made, they make dumb decisions and whatnot, and you get a sense of why they do it. It's more real and fleshed out than most Japanese characters, especially in JRPGs

There's not really a lot to say "Watch out for this", because the game isn't super challenging. I found it to be just right, the whole time. We died maybe twice, on a couple boss battles, but otherwise, we always seemed to have the means to get done what we needed. It helps that there's like 3 healer characters, and the A.I. isn't terrible. And you can switch out on the fly, almost (but not quite) like FFX in case someone is being dumb in a certain battle

Rez09
07-05-2014, 05:33 PM
All I can recommend is that as soon as you can make use of link techs, do so; they are powerful and cannot be interrupted. When I first played I conserved the meter for bosses, but it charges VERY quickly, so just use it whenever you can.