PDA

View Full Version : Learning to cook

Pike
07-12-2014, 11:32 PM
I've mentioned before in this subforum that I'm brand new to cooking and am trying to learn (mostly to save money), but often even threads I start about basic stuff segue into things that I don't understand. This is not your fault, by the way - I mean, I understand that anyone who isn't me should understand "cook a chicken in a pot" - but I am so new to this that I, uh, don't. Like, going back to the example, do you do anything to the chicken first? Do you just put the whole thing in the pot? Then what? Does it go on the stove? Do you add anything? Do I need water? How much water? What temperature do I set it to? How long do I let it cook for? What happens next? Does it keep in the fridge? What parts are and aren't edible? Basically when I say "explain to me like I am five" I mean it.

So basically I am coming to ask if you have any resources or websites that can teach someone with zero experience how to cook.

Alternatively if you want to walk me through something easy step-by-step like I'm a brain damaged puppy or something, that's fine too.

Pike
07-13-2014, 12:05 AM
I'll learn to cook pretty much anything so long as it's gluten-free.

And I don't like spicy foods at all, so when it comes to spices I figure I'll just need the basics.

Freya
07-13-2014, 12:30 AM
Honestly. Pinterest is a great place for recipes (http://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=gluten%20free%20recipes&rs=ac&len=6). I have learned a lot from just trying recipes. The easiest thing is just to try it! If you mess up, oh well. if you have a question about it, google it! you'll find things explaining it. That's how I found out how to ribbon zucchini.

Shorty
07-13-2014, 12:38 AM
Second in pinterest. Search for gluten free easy recipes and it will give you a goldmine.

I'm on my phone and can't type out a lot but pinterest seriously!

jodymcdougle
07-13-2014, 12:42 AM