PDA

View Full Version : Rogue Legacy [UPDATE: Coming to Sony systems July 29]

Pike
07-18-2014, 10:35 AM
I started playing this game recently and I'm quite enjoying it. It's a rather unforgiving roguelike-inspired platform game, in fact I'd say it's like a 2-D Dark Souls except it's actually fun to play :shobon:

I originally started playing it because I thought the idea of having characters with genetic "traits" sounded interesting, unfortunately that part is more gimmicky than I thought it would be but it's still fun regardless.

Has anyone else played this? It's super addicting.

Dr Unne
07-18-2014, 10:38 AM
It is addicting. I think they could've done more with the inheritance system. Pretty much you get a random roll of stats every time you start over. It would've been cool to actually inherit something from your parents. The game was also a grindfest, not even taking into account newgame+. Did you think the controls were good? I thought they were too floaty. Some of the platforming sections felt impossible because of the controls.

Still a fun game. I dumped a lot of hours into it. Roguelike + platformer = take my money.

Sephex
07-18-2014, 10:43 AM
Played it and beat it (main game) months ago. I was made aware of it through the Steam Train portion of the Game Grumps YouTube channel.

I usually don't get into games with such a heavy risk/reward factor, but I feel this game pulled it off without the risk part feeling too unfair while the rewards part felt satisfying if you accomplished whatever it was you set out to do. The traits, types of characters, and general options made a game that seems repetitive have a lot of variety.

Rez09
07-18-2014, 03:45 PM
Comically, I downloaded the demo for the game a good while before it was released and maxed out everything, then, when the game came out, I lost interest before I finished it. The game was fun, but I was suffering from some serious burnout, and I haven't picked it back up again.

Pike
07-18-2014, 06:38 PM