PDA

View Full Version : The Commonwealth Games Discussion Thread - Glasgow 2014

Formalhaut
07-23-2014, 08:27 PM
So the latest Commonwealth Games (the 20th) have arrived to Glasgow and the opening ceremony is underway! Amid a Scottish independence referendum, it appears these games will appear to be pretty important both in sport and in politics!

If you're wondering just what the Commonwealth is, basically, the Commonwealth consists of countries that were all mostly part of the British empire, at one time or another, and the member states have no legal obligation to each other. There's probably more to it than just that, but I'm no expert!

It's held in Scotland, anyway, the home of some of our members! Who will be watching, or even following, the 'not quite the Olympics' sporting event?

Oh, and here's the mascot. Weird looking, I know.

http://i4.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1341333.ece/alternates/s615/Clyde

Shauna
07-23-2014, 08:29 PM
Haha, Glasgow is woefully underprepared for this.

Formalhaut
07-23-2014, 08:38 PM
Haha, Glasgow is woefully underprepared for this.

Really? How so?

Psychotic
07-23-2014, 08:45 PM
The mascot is from Hell itself.

Shauna
07-23-2014, 08:47 PM
It's Glasgow. We'll do our damnedest, but it really is not the greatest locale. It is a tiny wee city with a lot of problems. We'll muddle through. xD

And yes, the mascot is terrifying. It matches the dumb Commonwealth uniforms for Scotland. So many terrible decisions. :stare:

Aulayna
07-23-2014, 09:52 PM
Hey look, all of New Zealand is wearing BoB's shirt!

Aulayna
07-23-2014, 10:40 PM
It's Glasgow. We'll do our damnedest, but it really is not the greatest locale. It is a tiny wee city with a lot of problems. We'll muddle through. xD

And yes, the mascot is terrifying. It matches the dumb Commonwealth uniforms for Scotland. So many terrible decisions. :stare: