PDA

View Full Version : When you perform music...

Spooniest
09-15-2014, 06:32 AM
For those of you who have at some point performed music in front of people.

(waits)

Ok, guys, do you think a person should just stand there playing music or should they move with the music a little?

I say, get moving! People like action when they have to watch things.

Aaaand go!

Bubba
09-15-2014, 08:44 AM
I agree that musicians should move around when playing as it makes it much more interesting to look at. I've never been very good at it though. I don't think I have a lot of stage presence. Obviously I am an awesome guitarist and singer... but you do need to have a little bit more about you than that to front a band.

Pheesh
09-15-2014, 09:23 AM
Yeah, I move around like a crazy person, I was told on more than one occasion that I look like I dropped ecstasy before I went on stage. I don't mean to do it, it just happens.

As for whether people should do it, that really just depends. It is definitely more fun/interesting to look at in most cases, but that said some of my favourite musicians (Neil Peart, Mark Hosking) are incredibly stoic when they play and that's also cool in it's own way. Basically, if you are a good enough musician your playing will speak for itself.

Night Fury
09-15-2014, 09:24 AM
I think that yes, musicians should move around a bit.

They're playing music! music gets you moving and even if it's just that the drummer is really getting into what he's doing and headbanging away, or the guitarist is shaking his booty.... it shows you're really feeling it and into it.

It doesn't have to be a full on choreographed dance routine because sometimes that can take away a bit.. but yeah, moving around is all good!

Saying that, this is just a perfect performance and I don't think she moves much.

lWsO41YkYpY

Sephex
09-15-2014, 09:38 AM
When I played bass in my room at my parent's house back in the day I didn't move around too much.