PDA

View Full Version : An introduction?

TheShogun
02-22-2015, 03:48 AM
Hello, my name is TheShogun!

I live in Australia and I am relatively new to Final Fantasy, having mainly played XIV. Final Fantasy is a renowned series and I think now is as good of a time as ever to start playing them. So while this is an introduction, it's also a question.

Which Final Fantasy should I start with?

At this point in time I can play pretty much any of them from the original FF through to X. Should I play the games on their original console or on ports (PC, PSVita, etc). Any reccomendations or tips would be appreciated. I intend to write articles about Final Fantasy from a new perspective, having never properly played a "traditional" Final Fantasy game, as well as view the games from a design standpoint, and research into how the games were made, and how they were developed over time.

I guess my favourite videogame of all time would have to be MGS 3, I enjoy games from pretty much any genre (I am incredibly bad at any RTS though its ridiculous).

Thanks for having me here :D

Leigh
02-22-2015, 08:23 AM
Hi 'TheShogun'! =) Welcome to our humble internet dwelling. I noticed you've already posted an article in the affiliated news. Good luck with the penmanship. =D

My general advice would be based around how you currently appreciate the qualities contained in Final Fantasy XIV? If we are starting you at the base level and you would like to appreciate the development and construction of Final Fantasy chronologically, perhaps focusing on how its development has evolved (into irrelevancy? :p) over time, I would suggest starting from the very first games. The first games are, in my opinion, not very accessible today from the aspect of physical enjoyment. I found that I needed to paint the context within which the original games were designed to at least appreciate their worth.