PDA

View Full Version : Tomb raider timeline

Masamunemaster
04-12-2015, 05:41 AM
I recently started playing the 2014 tomb raider, and I'm loving it more than any other one. My question is: how does the timeline work with these games?

Shauna
04-12-2015, 09:32 AM
2014 is a prequel. The rest of them run chronologically.

Ayen
04-12-2015, 09:38 AM
A prequel? I thought it was a reboot?

Shauna
04-12-2015, 09:56 AM
Prequel reboot it's all the same. Until there is a point that makes the timelines incompatible I will see them all as linked.

Masamunemaster
04-12-2015, 04:53 PM
I'm glad they make her look a bit more realistic, instead of just a big pair of chesticles running through a tomb.

Fox
04-12-2015, 05:44 PM
My favourite Tomb Raider games are still the early Crystal Dynamics ones (with Keeley Hawes as Lara). Legend and Underworld were very engaging in terms of story, and Anniversary was a superb remake of the original game.

I see 2014 as a complete reboot, not tied into the rest of them at all. There were no hints to any of the Legend/Underworld/Anniversary story in there, so for me it's a different time line. Very much like Star Trek 2009.

Masamunemaster
04-13-2015, 05:48 PM
Is it possible to get all weapon upgrades in one playthrough?

Shauna
04-13-2015, 05:52 PM
I see 2014 as a complete reboot, not tied into the rest of them at all. There were no hints to any of the Legend/Underworld/Anniversary story in there, so for me it's a different time line. Very much like Star Trek 2009.

I suppose. But then, the original TRs are not tied to Legend/Underworld, so eh. xD

Vyk
04-19-2015, 09:37 PM