PDA

View Full Version : Story vs. Gameplay

Wolf Kanno
05-15-2015, 07:50 AM
When it comes to the FF games in particular, are you here more for the gameplay or the story?

Fynn
05-15-2015, 08:11 AM
Balance is where it's at!

I Took the Red Pill
05-15-2015, 08:12 AM
When I was younger, I surely would have said story. Now that I'm older and pretty much burnt on standard JRPG story-fare, it's undoubtedly gameplay. I haven't played a Final Fantasy game in years, but if I were to suddenly get the urge, I'd probably go with FFX-2. Garbage story but superfun gameplay.

Ayen
05-15-2015, 08:46 AM
Story, though I like the gameplay too. Only thing I don't care for anymore are the random encounters. "Gotta figure out where to go--" screen shatters and battle music plays Goddammit!

Bubba
05-15-2015, 10:30 AM
It needs to be both to keep me properly hooked but I would generally favour gameplay. I started playing games back in the eighties though where story was a rare and wonderful thing.

I choose the third option though... mainly because I didn't know what Reaganomics meant.

Mirage
05-15-2015, 10:40 AM
I can't play any game without the game part of the game being good.

Good gameplay doesn't mean you have to min-max.

Karifean
05-15-2015, 11:04 AM
I definitely value story over gameplay, but I've found that even FF stories can't nearly keep up with VNs, so now I'd say I'm in it for the balance, or rather, the synergy between story and gameplay.

Pike
05-15-2015, 11:58 AM
For FF? I am here 100% for the gameplay. FF is where to go for comforting, grindy JRPG goodness.

Good gameplay doesn't mean you have to min-max.

Also this. I don't min/max, I just like to fight.

Shiva95
05-15-2015, 01:37 PM
The gameplay is important, but it's still the story that gets me and that makes me want to continue playing, so I voted for the story.

VeloZer0
05-15-2015, 02:27 PM