PDA

View Full Version : Musicals!

Crop
05-18-2015, 12:49 AM
There are so many fantastic musicals out there on film, and I've seen them all!

It's hard to pick a favourite (how couldn't it be with so many classic films to choose from - Annie, Seven Brides, Rocky Horror, Mary Poppins, West Side Story, Wizard of Oz etc.), but my favourite of them all would have to be 'Bugsy Malone', the classic movie with a cast made up entirely of kids. Great songs, great premise, and hilarious moments, it's got everything a musical needs!

What's your favourite musical and why?

Scotty_ffgamer
05-18-2015, 01:38 AM
Most of my experience with musicals was being in them in high school and then a couple of summers after that. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers was probably the most enjoyable for me to perform in. Fiddler on the Roof was probably the highest quality one I was in (both of these were after I graduated high school). It's hard to pick between those two, but I'd say Fiddler is the better musical.

Beauty and the Beast was a ton of fun to perform in too, that being my first musical I'd been in. Music Man was awful to be in and I just can't enjoy that musical thanks to my terrible experiences.

As far as movie adaptations, I'd have to say my favorite is probably Les Miserables. I'd love to be in a version of that someday. Outside of that, I really prefer seeing my musicals live in a theater. It is my goal to see and/or be in a live production of Les Mis someday though.

Ayen
05-18-2015, 01:57 AM
Blue Brothers. With a few exceptions there's actually a reason why they're bursting out in song. Also one of the greatest movies ever made. Love the soundtrack.

Shorty
05-18-2015, 02:07 AM
Guys and Dolls. It was a huge part of my childhood, and also, Frank Sinatra and Marlon Brando? Genius. Follow-ups would be Brigadoon, West Side Story, and Les Miserables.

blackmage_nuke
05-19-2015, 06:01 AM