PDA

View Full Version : Pokemon?

FFNut
07-18-2015, 02:12 AM
hey everyone, I have never played a Pokemon game in my life but I see how much you guys like the games and think maybe I'm missing out on a great series. So I have a chance to get some for free to play, and I was wondering which one should I start with? Here are my options:

Emerald
Saphire
Leaf Green
Yellow
Ruby
Silver

Remember I am brand new to the series, so like I said which one should I start with?

Fynn
07-18-2015, 05:45 AM
I think Lea Green is a good place to start. It's a remake of a first generation game, so for a first time player who is not til familiar with Pokemon, it's a nice introduction to the mechanics of the game, what with most of it being limited to only the first 151 Pokemon.

After that, go for second gen - that's Gold, Silver and Crystal. Those have remakes too, but they're for the DS, so I don't know if you'll get access to them.

In general it's important to remember that each generation has two game with a later added third. The first two are practically identical, with only the Pokemon you can catch being different, while the third adds some new features. Each generation adds new Pokemon. So here's the gens:

1 - Red and Blue, and later Yellow (Fire Red and Leaf Green are remakes and count as 3rd gen games)
2 - Gold and Silver, and later Crystal (Heart Gold and Soul Silver are remakes in the 4th gen)
3 - Ruby and Sapphire, and later Emerald (most currently remade into Onega Ruby and Alpha Saplhire for gen 6)
4 - Diamond and Pearl, and later Platinum
5 - Black and White which have no third version, but direct sequels instead - Black 2 and White 2
6 - X and Y. No news on the third game so far.

My personal favorite is gen 5 :love:

Ayen
07-18-2015, 07:10 AM