PDA

View Full Version : Successful and Failed Remakes

Scotty_ffgamer
09-16-2015, 09:02 PM
So I started playing my copy of MGS: The Twin Snakes for the first time today, and it got me thinking about game remakes.

Are there any gaming remakes that you've played that really capture the feeling of the original game while also improving upon it? The Twin Snakes isn't really a good example of this to me as it just really doesn't seem to capture the same atmosphere of the original game to me, with dialogue feeling more flat, music being less memorable, and the action scenes feeling way more over the top than they should.

Fynn
09-16-2015, 09:15 PM
FFIV DS is like the perfect remake. It really builds up on the source material in a lot of ways, and is the definite FFIV experience in my opinion.

NeoCracker
09-16-2015, 09:31 PM
Agreed, IV's remake was fantastic.

Pike
09-16-2015, 10:05 PM
So am I the only person who liked The Twin Snakes?

Scotty_ffgamer
09-16-2015, 10:11 PM
I still enjoy The Twin Snakes; I just prefer the original. The more I played it, the more I just wanted to pop in my old PS1 disc. There is probably as much nostalgia as anything else being the problem for me though. The original had such an impact on me as a kid that I probably can't help but feel like something is wrong when it's not exactly the same, haha.

I got a similar feeling as I did with the 3DS remake of Star Fox 64. That game is beautiful and plays really well, but I just can't handle that all of the dialogue has been rerecorded. Even if it's the same voice actors, everything sounds off to me just because it's not delivered in exactly the way I remember. Both of these are games I've played way too many times though.

Del Murder
09-16-2015, 10:25 PM
Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together for PSP was the best remake I've seen.

Vyk
09-16-2015, 11:05 PM
Shining Force Resurrection of the Dark Dragon was garbage

Resident Evil HD was pretty awesome