PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Blizzard games

Scotty_ffgamer
11-11-2015, 10:23 PM
So lately, I've been thinking about trying to get into more RTS games and ARPGs (as in, Diablo style) because they are both types of games I have no real experience with. I feel like with both types of games, Blizzard seems to be one of the bigger names with Warcraft, Starcraft, and Diablo. Just out of curiosity, what's a good jumping point into any of these franchises, which are your favorites, and are there any lesser known games by the company that are worth looking into?

Ayen
11-11-2015, 10:29 PM
I think you'll be fine starting out with StarCraft 1. I played it a couple years back and graphics wise it still looks pretty good for a game that came out in 98 and plays well. Don't skip Brood War. I made that mistake going into 2 and ended up rather confused. I'm not used to expansion packs having major plot advancements, though I should have learned my lesson after Tiberian Sun Firestorm.

Pike
11-11-2015, 11:19 PM
literally all of them are my favorites lmao

For Starcraft definitely play the original + Brood War. Note it is kind of an outdated interface, personally it doesn't bug me at all but that's because I burned hours of my life on this game and I'm a strategy game nerd to begin with. Anyways the gameplay is top-notch. IMO this is the greatest RTS game ever made. Anyways then move on to SC2 and the expansions if you liked the original.

For Warcraft all the current lore is in the MMO (World of Warcraft) but I know that's not everyone's thing. Warcraft 3 + The Frozen Throne is accessible and easy to play and has some super fantastic missions and stories and characters in it. Bonus points if you go back and play Warcraft 2 but its interface is even more primitive than StarCraft's so just kinda be aware.