PDA

View Full Version : Major Overhaul of Writer's Corner Please???

Kumo
06-20-2002, 05:43 PM
I've been around the forums for a while, but for the most part I hang out in the Writer's Corner. First off, let me say that forum is one of the more popular forums on the net. It has decent traffic and a very respectable post count. But I do have one complaint about how it is currently organized. I feel that the forum is catered more towards those that write poetry than fanfics (I'm a fanfic writer myself). It is much easier to write poetry than a chapter of a story, and thus the stories get knocked down and forgotten rather quickly.

What I suggest is to make a subforum for Poetry and stuff like that, and let the original stories and fanfics stay in the main forum. The admins over at FF Worlds Apart have tried this and it has worked successfully for them. The new forum they created is going strong and the regular forum is doing much better (We've reached about 10000 replies!). Traffic is also very high too, three times as much as it is over here. You could also perhaps make two seperate forums for poetry as well. The choice is up to you. I feel that it will be very beneficial to the culture of this site and to the traffic browsing it's many forums. I know you admins could probably care less about the Writers Corner, but please take this into consideration.

Shira
06-25-2002, 03:57 PM
Well... I've thought about this before but the Writer's Corner will be split too much as we don't have enough people there right now. There are a lot of posts, yes, but it's all the same people. Me, Bannor, Spatvark, harlequil, Calliope, Del Murder, Zypher, and occasionally OWA.

It would be kind of inconvenient, I think, and we might lose some poetry or story readers because they may be dedicated to reading one type.