PDA

View Full Version : Avatar Question



Talus
10-17-2002, 05:31 PM
I've had my Avatar for a while on a previous computer but I got rid of my old computer and I am using a new one, and I wanted to know if my Avatar is visible to everyone. Also I want to know if my sig is working correctly. Thanks in advance.

Squally Leonharty
10-17-2002, 05:34 PM
Your avatar is working fine. Your signature, sort of It's hosted on Angelfire, which doesn't allow remote linking. Fix it by renaming the extension of the file from .gif to .txt and link it again. It'll be shown properly to everyone then. :)

Talus
10-17-2002, 06:03 PM
I switched it from .gif to .txt, is it working better now?

m4tt
10-17-2002, 06:05 PM
You have to change the file name to .txt Not just the link.

Talus
10-17-2002, 06:10 PM
This is complicated, how do I change the filename from .gif to txt.?

Can I direct link from non-angelfire sites?

Squally Leonharty
10-17-2002, 08:04 PM
- Download the file.
- Rename the extension from .gif to .txt.
- Reupload the file to your host.
- Delete the .gif file.
- Link to the .txt file.
- Presto! It works. :D

Talus
10-18-2002, 12:33 AM
Originally posted by Squally Leonharty
- Download the file.
- Rename the extension from .gif to .txt.


I have a few questions, is Save Target As the same as download and how do I rename the extension.

Pancaek
10-18-2002, 05:13 AM
You can only rename file extensions if the extensions are visible. To do that, go Control Panel > Folder Options > View, and then look for a checkbox that says "Hide file extensions for known file types".If it's checked, uncheck it and you should be able to see the extensions. Now go to your file and replace ".gif" with ".txt". (I'm looking at these instructions from Windows ME, so if you're using 98 or XP or something they might be wrong. It's probably the same, though.)

And yes, Save Target As is the same as downloading.

Talus
10-18-2002, 06:02 AM
I unchecked the box for hidden extensions but I still couldn't find .txt, so I gave up on that and I'm trying to see if I can direct link from another site, does it work?

crono_logical
10-18-2002, 09:59 AM
Yes, it works now :p

Talus
10-18-2002, 05:52 PM
Thanks for everyones help and patience.

Dr Unne
10-19-2002, 04:24 PM
You're also stealing another site's bandwidth by linking to pictures from their server. But oh well.