PDA

View Full Version : overclocking o_O (computer talk)

IllNinoIsLoco
11-17-2002, 05:59 AM
ok, now im new to o/cing and it seems like i could mess stuff up if im not careful. im going to overclock my geforce4 mx420. i installed the program called coolbits.reg, and im ready to adjust the clock frequencies. how good should my cooling system be? would it be fine if i just took off the side of my tower? thanks!

crono_logical
11-17-2002, 10:28 AM
I find taking the side off of the tower and sticking a 12 inch deskfan in front of it can drop the temperatures by at least 10 C :D In fact, I have to do that anyway, because the fan on my video card has jammed, so that's the only cooling my video card gets now - has the added benefit of cooling the rest of the computer at the same time :p

How much you can overclock is another question - I've got a Geforce2, and have that overclocked by 5% by default when I boot the computer up. I've taken it up to 10% before too and had no problems, bu I've started noticing slight glitches in the graphics in 3D-intensive games when taking it any higher than that. Geforce 4 might be different though, because it's already at a higher clock frequency to begin with :)

Nate
11-20-2002, 07:07 AM
Truth is, you're not going to get a significant performance increase out of overclocking a GeForce 4 mx 420. I have one, there's really not much you can push it to doing.

If you absolutely must, make sure you have adequate cooling, like a heatsink/fan combo, or if you're poor like me a desk fan on an open box can do the trick too. Like I said though, there's not a fantastic increase in performance, the change would be so little.

And if you're serious man...the new Geforce FX's come out in February, we're talking some serious muscle. I heard that within a few generations of video cards they'll be able to render things like Final Fantasy:TSW in real time instead of prerendering them. That should be badass.