PDA

View Full Version : Tab button

Xander
09-05-2003, 06:16 PM
Ahhh, I'm sorry for posting so many Help topics guys, but I really need help again :cry:

Usually when writing an email or just writing text on a webpage, like now, I can press Tab to move along a bit (instead of spacebar, y'know what I mean).

However if I press Tab now it just goes down to another item on the page, for example the checkboxes below where I am posting, then the submit thread button and so on.

Can anyone help? Sorry I'm so clueless (you wouldn't believe I studied IT would you :p)

Flying Mullet
09-05-2003, 06:24 PM
Tab has always gone to the next form element or link for me. I'v enever used tab to move further down a page. "Page Up", "Page Down" and the space bar will also do the trick just as long as your cursor isn't in a text field.

EDIT: Sorry, I misunderstood what you said. Disregard what I said about moving around a page with the other buttons.

Dr Unne
09-05-2003, 06:43 PM
Even if you somehow manage to insert a tab into a form element, like by copy/pasting them, when HTML is parsed all whitespace is compressed into a single space. So it wouldn't even show up.

Here are 10 spaces between the quotes:

" "

Here are 10 tabs I copy/pasted:

" "

See, doesn't show up. Most browsers override the behavior of the Tab key anyways to affect the browser window rather than insert a Tab character, like Flying Mullet said.

The ASCII Tab character is the stupidest thing every created anyways. Variable-width characters = headache. Take a tab-indented document from one computer and put it on another and chances are good that it looks like total crap because the tabs are different sizes.

Xander
09-05-2003, 09:17 PM
Hmmm it used to work in emails though, but if it wouldn't show up anyway I guess it doesn't matter..

It's just that when my mum writes emails she likes to set it out like a letter so tab helps there..maybe it didn't work before though and I'm just thinking of writing stuff on Word.