PDA

View Full Version : Which version of Linux is the best?

Baloki
02-16-2004, 06:15 PM
Do specs matter?

Dr Unne
02-16-2004, 08:47 PM
What specs?

I like Gentoo, but no distro is "the best". They're all different and meant for different people with different requirements and skill-levels.

Baloki
02-16-2004, 08:50 PM
I meant like 955mhz processer, etc for specs.

Also I have basic knowledge.....

Dr Unne
02-16-2004, 09:07 PM
955MHz is more than fast enough. What do you want Linux for? Do you want something easy to set up for newbies? Do you want to really learn how Linux works (and how your computer works, in the process) and don't mind spending a week just to install it? Do you want something ultra-stable, or do you want something bleeding-edge? Do you want complete control over every detail of your computer, or do you want a distro to take care of everything for you? Pick a distro and go start reading their support forums and see how you like it. Go read the forums here: http://www.justlinux.com/. I went through Redhat, Madrake, Redhat again many times, the Linux From Scratch, and finally Gentoo.

If you REALLY want to learn, do Linux From Scratch, here http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/ . You will likely completely screw up and end up with a horrible unusable mess, but you'll learn so much doing it that you'll be able to make a better choice of what you want / need.

Citizen Bleys
02-17-2004, 03:08 AM
Funny, I was expecting Unne to say Gentoo, but he didn't, so I'll say it for him:

Gentoo.

Dr Unne
02-17-2004, 03:23 AM
When I say it, I get castrated almost instantaneously by people who like other inferior distros better. Since when are you allowed to say it?

crono_logical
02-17-2004, 03:28 AM
Can you download the Gentoo source seperately without compiling, then compile/install it locally off your HD at another time? I hate installing anything off the internet, only from local disks or the LAN at most :p

Dr Unne
02-17-2004, 03:52 AM