PDA

View Full Version : Never played Final Fantasy - With which game should I start?

FinalBob42
07-22-2004, 05:00 AM
I don't have a Playstation 2, but I can play all the PS1 and SNES games. I've heard people I know talk about FF for ages and am finally ready to check the games out myself.

As I understand it, there are the following games to choose from:
Final Fantasy 2
Final Fantasy 3
Final Fantasy 7
Final Fantasy 8
Final Fantasy 9
As well as (counting other Square RPGs):
Chrono Trigger
Secret of Mana

I'm really a complete noob when it comes to this Turb-Based/Real-Time mix. What would be the best game to get into Square RPGs?

-Thanks.

Glorious Peterloo
07-22-2004, 05:08 AM
IMO the easiest FF to start with is FF4, it is almost completely linear and the easytype (FF2 or FF4j easytype) is perfectly catered to the beginning RPGers needs (read: it plays like a story with little leveling required).

Doomgaze
07-22-2004, 05:09 AM
VI. Or Chrono Trigger, which is better than Final Fantasy for the most part.

Everyone's going to say VII, but don't listen to them.

...Better yet, screw Final Fantasy, go play Suikoden.

kikimm
07-22-2004, 06:18 AM
Hmm....well, my first one was 8, and that one seemed to pull me into the series right away. However, I would ABSOLUTELY NOT advise you to start with this one, as I only learned how to do all that junctioning hlfway through the first disc, where I was pretty much screwed, and had to start over.

So IV would be good, like Glorious Peterloo suggested. I would also say IX, because it was supposed to be a throwback to the old days, you get a feel of what FF was.

Whatever you do choose, you'll probably love---or I hope you do. Good luck, have fun!

:D

Doomgaze
07-22-2004, 06:29 AM
I assume by "XI" you meant "IX."

kikimm
07-22-2004, 06:32 AM
oh, yeah, oops. meh, i should just stick with the regular ol numbers. 9 is the one I meant.

:D

Mo-Nercy
07-22-2004, 08:32 AM