PDA

View Full Version : Broadband deals

PhoenixAsh
08-25-2004, 05:32 PM
Okay, I'm a student in the UK, and I'm moving into a house with 3 other people soon and we should be living there for about nine months. I don't have a TV license yet, or a phone connection and we want to get broadband, so I was wondering if anyone could give advice on what the best/cheapest deals are? I don't want something useless, but I'd prefer not to spend money unnecessarily.

Any advice?

Baloki
08-27-2004, 02:57 PM
If you live in the right area go for Blueyonder from Telewest, its the cheapest and fastest, also they usually throw in cheap telephone calls and a cable TV package.

However if your not then go with BT. Their currently offering 1 megabit line for £29.99 with 1 Gig a day bandwidth (download only) limit. Also they allow you to use internet connection sharing so you can have upto 10 computers connected through one line.

Also you can purchase a router and use that instead of the modem they give you free, and that means you don't have to leave one computer on all the time to service the others with the internet.

Hope that helps :)

PhoenixAsh
08-27-2004, 06:40 PM
Okay great, I was looking at BT, so I'll see if Blueyonder works for me first. That's really helpful I appreciate it a lot.

Shoeberto
08-27-2004, 08:07 PM
If you live in the right area go for Blueyonder from Telewest, its the cheapest and fastest, also they usually throw in cheap telephone calls and a cable TV package.

However if your not then go with BT. Their currently offering 1 megabit line for £29.99 with 1 Gig a day bandwidth (download only) limit. Also they allow you to use internet connection sharing so you can have upto 10 computers connected through one line.

Also you can purchase a router and use that instead of the modem they give you free, and that means you don't have to leave one computer on all the time to service the others with the internet.

Hope that helps :)