PDA

View Full Version : Final Fantasy XII at E3

Necronopticous
09-07-2004, 11:37 PM
I was fortunate enough to attend E3 a few months back and get lots of "hands on" with Final Fantasy XII. Most people had lots of stuff to see, but not me, I stayed at the Square-Enix booth about 98.7% of the time. I watched people come and go for their 15 minute plays on the Final Fantasy XII stations and then I got my hands on a controller and stood there for 2-3 hours doing everything the demo had to offer. I thought the guys were going to kick me off a few times but they never did, I pretty much got to play everything that was available at the time, I know exactly how the battle system is, and pretty much exactly how the game will play, if anyone has been curious about some certain thing I will happily answer the question. Sorry I didn't post sooner, I'm new to the EoFF forums.

oloz
09-08-2004, 01:30 AM
How is the battle system exactly, Im not quite sure on what they are trying to do. I hear you only control one character at a time ala kingdom hearts and stuff.. So if you could clear that up for me Id appreciate it. If it is like that how good is the AI and are you able to make them do certain things and switch characters mid battle?

Necronopticous
09-08-2004, 02:58 AM
Okay I'll give you the full run down, bear with me.

If you've never played an MMORPG the battle system is going to be really foreign to you, on the other hand, if you have played one, it's going to be VERY familiar to you. Needless to say, the battle system is obviously based on the MMORPG idea, that is, everything takes place on the map you run around on, there is no traditional "battle screen" anymore.