PDA

View Full Version : Final Fantasy One???

feioncastor
12-15-2004, 09:06 PM
As you know, recently FF DoS has been released, which features FF1 and 2 for the GBA.

What is your opinion of this?

Some people label it to be almost blasphemy because FF1 is/was an excellent game and it should've been left alone. A lot of video game 'buffs' are upset because there was a time when only the true FF fans had played FF1, and now a bunch of "FFX-2" players suddenly think they know what Final Fantasy is all about because of FF DoS.

Then there are those who think it is a wonderful idea and are glad to see FF1 opened up to a new audience. They are happy that a whole new generation of gamers will get to enjoy the wonderful game that is Final Fantasy 1.

Personally, I'm on the fence about this one. I've been playing FFs since 1991 so I feel that I am among the experienced FF players, and it troubles me that all these newbies are trying to talk about FF1 when really, they've probably never played, or hadn't played it, until DoS. But I also love to see remakes, for example, Final Fantasy Origins. I loved the new sound and graphics, and it really wasn't that popular so mostly old-school FF fans actually bought it. I haven't played DoS yet, but I will be buying it, simply because I need to own every FF title, and this is an FF title.

I'm just kind of upset that everyone thinks they know about FF games now that these remakes are coming out like this. I was playing them over 10 years ago, and I didn't need advanced graphics or any of that. The games were already good games; why did they have to re-do them? They're already cool, so if it isn't broke, don't fix it. These games didn't need to be fixed, and Square did anyway, and I'm worried that they are going to spoil the classics, much like they spoiled the FF name (from 8 onward).

Here I go, rambling again.

Captain Maxx Power
12-15-2004, 09:27 PM