PDA

View Full Version : My beef with FFX

feioncastor
12-18-2004, 04:58 PM
I've been playing FF games since 1993 when I first played FF2 for the SNES. It was (and is) a wonderful captivating game that has really done a lot for me.

I was very stoked when FF3 came out, and a bit confused when FF7 came out a little while later, but thouroughly pleased with both games.

Then I played FF8 which I thought to be a disgrace to the FF name. FF9 was a little better, but I think they fell back into that hole when they made FF10.

I'm not posting this to cause trouble or flame anyone or anything. I'm posting my genuine opinion and backing it with my reasons why.

First of all, FFX had no world map. Well, it did have a world map, but you couldn't really walk around on it or anything, which has long been a trademark of FF games.

And also, the gameplay, if you can use the word "play", because I did so little playing. Most of the game is watching FMVs and conversations and such, with a little fighting in between. I did like the Cloisters, but that was only a small part of the gameplay. There was Blitzball, but I really didn't enjoy that either. I can't really specify why.

Bascially, here's my theory.

Squaresoft was a hard-working company that thought up great titles and GREAT storylines and GREAT game play, but then, in 1996-97, they decided to work on a game with GREAT graphics (compared to previous games), and that game was Final Fantasy 7. People bought up Final Fantasy 7 like mad, and they realized that they could sell games on graphics alone, without putting effort into the story or the gameplay. Thus, we see Final Fantasy 8, which was (and is) a disaster. Then they decided to try to return to their roots with Final Fantasy 9, and they somewhat did, but not as well as I had hoped. Then came Final Fantasy 10, which put so much effort into the graphics and cutscenes that they forgot to work on the gameplay, story, and so forth.