PDA

View Full Version : Metro 60 seconds on Nobuo Uematsu

Tanwen Strife
01-20-2005, 06:38 PM
Mental note to self. Always check to see if you can get an article on line before you spend 30 mins typing in up... This was from a column in Metro (free paper from the undergraound) that has a little interview with a different person every day.

Nobuo Uematsu is on of the worlds most prolific composers, though you may not recognise the name unless you are an ultra-fan of Final Fantasy computer games. He has composed the music for all the series, including Final Fantasy VII:Advent Children. A self-taught musician, he lives in Tokyo with his wife and his dog, Pao.

I believe you’re very fond of Irish music?
Yes, I like it a lot. As you may know, I’ve used some Celtic music in Final Fantasy. There’s some odd familiarity in Celtic music, something that you recognise in music from Japan, Europe or even China and other countries in Asia. My favourite Irish group is Altan. They tour Japan every year and I always go and see them play.

Do you play any Irish instruments?
I’ve tried the fiddle but it is very hard. I play most of my music on keyboards.

Games music always loops continually. Do you find that a restraint?I’m so used to it that I don’t see it as a negative. It’s a challenge to work within those parameters. The melody has to be strong, so games music is often more interesting than a film score, which usually has to act only as background music.

Is there now growing recognition of the talents of composers like yourself?
It would be nice to think so. I think so. When I started off in the games area, people said: “That’s no job for a man.” But I’ve always enjoyed it and thought myself lucky to have work.

Would Beethoven and Bach be working in games if they were alive today?
Oh yes-if they were around, they would be serious rivals.

What is the next challenge for you?