PDA

View Full Version : Tax Returns

Clouded Sky
02-17-2005, 07:01 PM
I hope this goes here. This is my first year working and getting a return. I filed two different forms, one for state income tax, and one for federal income tax. Does this mean I'll be getting two seperate checks? Any help would be appreciated.

Also, what do YOU think of the system in place here? I really hate having money taken out of paychecks, but I think it'll be real nice when a *hopefully* large check arrives in my mailbox. Your thoughts?

Shlup
02-17-2005, 07:25 PM
I don't think you have to file two different forms. o.O I just use the... what is it? 1040EZ? I haven't done it in a few years. My mom's a CPA so she thinks doing my little tax form is fun. *shrug*

I don't like them taking money from my checks either. I guess its better than the blow of having to pay a big chunk of money every year though... I think I'd want to just keep my money and pay taxes once a year, but this time of year its nice to look forward to getting some money back than looking forward to writing a big check through my tears! Heh.

Samuraid
02-17-2005, 07:28 PM
What I hate: estimated taxes! (those quarterly payments) :D

Congress must have said "oh wow, we can take their money early and WE can get the insterest from it."

The system is far too complicated and convoluted. It should be renovated and simplified.

Levian
02-17-2005, 07:32 PM
...You have two different places to pay taxes too? :/ that sucks. In Norway, we pay taxes to the "federal" as you crazy americans call it, and then they transfer money to lower forms of states.

And what I think about the system... Well, it's a good system, I'd say. Otherwise we'd live in poverty anyway. But I must say, I don't like some of the things the state uses tax money to pay for. Like to pay for plane tickets and the stay of criminals that apply citizenship, multiple times. It's annoying, and it's a waste of money. I like money :cool:

edit: