PDA

View Full Version : Making signatures and avatars

FallenAngel411
03-24-2005, 05:26 AM
Well...how does everyone do it??? I'd love to make my own siggy and avatar, but I have no clue how. Is there some kind of software I have to download or something? Any advice would be much appeciated!

Cybele
03-24-2005, 05:35 AM
You need either paint shop pro or photoshop to make anything really decent. Both of which cost money. Look around on your computer, you may have a trial run of paint shop pro you haven't yet activated. I'll go find my blending tutorial...

Edit: Here it is...

You have to have Photoshop...I actually had a blending tutorial...I'm not very good at explaining things, but here goes.
Open photoshop, then open a new canvas (if you go for a sig, try about 400x150 pixels)
Open your image, go to the selection tool (the square thing in the upper left hand corner)
Then you should see a box that says feather toward the top and 0 px inside the feathering box. Put in an amount (I usually use about 30) and select the part of the image you want. The dotted square should turn into a circle. Then go to edit, cut, and paste it onto your empty canvas. It should be kind of transparent. Play around with layers and such to get a nice look. Hope I helped...
Edit: I forgot to say that you can do that with multiple images and place them on the same canvas and they'll look blended together. That's what I meant by play with the layers, you can put certain ones so that they'll show a bit more than the others by putting that image as the last layer or on top.
Use the move tool (the arrow with the 4 mini arrows attached to it next to the selection tool) to move particular images around to your liking. Select different layers to edit particular images on the canvas. I hope this isn't too confusing...

FallenAngel411
03-24-2005, 05:48 AM