We as people suffer from "schizophrenia."

I am:

A student
A sister
A daughter
A friend
A Forum Member
An Artist

With each of these titles, I must adress each people who view me as such with a different attitude. As a student I must be tolerant, tentative, eager, hard working... these are qualities however that don't necessarily emerge when I am another person. For instance, when I am a daughter I am moody, I am arguable, I am distant, I am impatient.

How do the roles we fulfill in our lives help shape us as humans?
How do these roles complicate out lives?
How do these roles compliment / contradict eachother?

I have a thought that perhaps the overwhelming amount of roles that people are almost forced to assume... or perhaps aren't forced to assume, is essential in understanding how people feel distressed, confused and unsituated in their lives.

A Penny for your Thoughts?

The Summoner of Leviathan
03-30-2005, 01:12 AM
Maybe these personas that we take on is our own faults? maybe from our insecurities of who we are makes us want to create these persona to be accepted by people, rather live to yourself, you choose to live a life to please the others. I think we should eventually all drop our huge games of charades and start being true to ourselves. I know what i just said is hypocritical, and foolish. to explain myself clear, is that maybe we should stop taking on all these persona, and be ourselves, which emcompass and is all of these at once. (I hope that made sense). Humanity strives too much on what others think, and we tend to forget who we are.

-N-
03-30-2005, 02:35 AM
Rather than viewing yourself as a set of discontinuities, why not accept and integrate them all. You don't have to break down the structure of your actions and thoughts into a hierarchical classification for things to make sense - you are who you are no matter what, no matter where - even when you're lying to someone, even when you're lying to yourself.