PDA

View Full Version : Oh no, Enix made Square suck.

XxSephirothxX
07-06-2005, 05:09 AM
What's with this attitude, anyway? It doesn't make sense. I've seen countless people say things like "Square sucks now" or "Once they joined Enix Square's plots have been bad" and so on and so forth. This just seems absolutely ridiculous to me. First off, they haven't released that many games at all! Final Fantasy Tactics Advance was an extremely fun and addictive strategy game with a deep system. A few of the other games Square-Enix has published weren't even developed by them, like Drakengard and Star Ocean: Till the End of Time. Neither of those games was horrible by any means, either. I have no experience with Front Mission 4, but it's not supposed to be complete trash. There's no way to tell how bad any part of the Compilation of FFVII is until it's released, so it's unfair and stupid to say those games are going to be bad when little is known about them. FFXII and Kingdom Hearts II look like they'll both be fine sequels, and it's not like XII is making radical changes to the saga. I mean, given the lack of sophistication in the plot department in some of Squaresoft's early titles, how exactly are they getting worse? They continue to turn out pretty solid products, and since they joined Enix they haven't changed much at all. The two companies work fairly seperately, I believe, so it's not as much of a merging of companies as it could have been. Even Crystal Chronicles was a fun game, though it was much more of an action/party title than an RPG.

So, I've voiced most of my thoughts on the subject. How do you think Square HAS gotten worse since they joined Enix? Someone who's got a decent answer can feel free to smash my opinion into little bits.

TheAbominatrix
07-06-2005, 05:12 AM