PDA

View Full Version : Languages

Rye
09-01-2005, 08:54 PM
3 questions. :)

What languages can you speak?
What is your Native Language?
What language do you think in? (I always wonder this when it comes to people who are completely bilingual/trilingual/etc)

I can only speak English. I can speak a tiny bit of French, but I'm not good at it at all and I'm forgetting bit by bit.

Doomie
09-01-2005, 08:57 PM
1. English, French, and I can understand and speak (Sorta) Italian. Although more of it comes out as buzzes and clicks. :p
2. As in what language I speak at home? English. The language most of my family speaks? Italian.
3. English.

I've always wanted to learn Latin though.

Aphelion
09-01-2005, 09:03 PM
I live in Brazil, so naturally, I can speak Portuguese. I'm very familiarized with Spanish (the structure of the sentences is very similar, the biggest differences come from the pronunciation, but it's not very hard), and I've been studying English for at least 5 years (and I've achieved a nice level of fluency in it). Of course you always end up learning something in other languages, like Italian (because there are many Italian descendants in my state), but the only languages I speak fluently are Portuguese and English.

I usually think about what I'm going to write in English, but as I used to think about everything in Portuguese before, sometimes both languages kind of got mixed up. I've fixed that, though, and now I can just separate them well and elaborate my thoughts in a fine way.

boris no no
09-01-2005, 09:05 PM
english. i used to speak a little german but lost contact with the german side of the family so no need to speak it really (i want to learn it again though!)
native language is english ;p seen as i live in england! xD
i think in english

Jojee
09-01-2005, 09:33 PM
I can speak English and Chinese! I think in English when I'm in America and Chinese when I'm in China. xD Depends on the people I'm around.