PDA

View Full Version : Do you think that there are other worlds orbiting the stars?

cloud_doll
03-18-2006, 04:38 AM
I'm just asking, I'm studying to be an astronomer and when you think about it, if each star is as big as our sun, then there are planets orbiting them. Could there be life on those planets? If so, what do you think they are like?

Zeromus_X
03-18-2006, 04:51 AM
More than likely. The universe is pretty big (from what they tell us.), so it'd be pretty boring if we're the only life here. :cat:

Luther X-Rated
03-18-2006, 05:02 AM
I guess that would be possible, but then it could be like Independence Day
all over again. Were going to have to rely on Will Smith to save our butt's.

TheSpoonyBard
03-18-2006, 05:07 AM
Were going to have to rely on Will Smith to save our butt's.
We're doomed.

Given the size of the universe and the sheer number of galaxies/stars/planets, I say that it's highly probable there are other inhabited planets out there somewhere.

Ouch!
03-18-2006, 05:17 AM
Isn't there some law that says every event can be perfectly reinacted at least once? So that would mean there could be another planet exactly like ours.

I doubt a planet needs to be exactly like ours to support life, though. If there is other life out there, which I think there probably is, I doubt it'd be anything like life on this planet.

Madame Adequate
03-18-2006, 05:23 AM
70,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars currently thought to exist in our universe.

You try and tell me that we're the only ones. Just try it.

But not all stars are the same size as our sun. Very few are. Still, most stars have a reasonable orbital area which is judged to have the right conditions for life. (Though some would say this is a prime example of carbon chauvinism.)

The real questions arise in the following forms;

How many races are within a distance we can reasonably make contact with?