PDA

View Full Version : Learning How to Play the Guitar

Mythra
06-19-2006, 12:03 AM
Just got my first guitar yesterday (BC rich warlock ;)). I'm at a loss for what to start doing really, and while I'm going to take lessons they won't start for at least 2 weeks from now. I was just wondering what I could do until I start taking lessons. I know some people are self-taught but I learn better if I have someone there showing me how to play. So if any seasoned guitar players on here could give a beginner some helpful pointers, I would greatly appreciate it. btw, I'm starting out on a electric guitar.

Venom
06-19-2006, 12:14 AM
Do you know how to read tabs?

Mythra
06-19-2006, 12:23 AM
Kind of. My friend tried explaining them to me one day at school and today I looked at a page explaining them even further. I would say I have a basic understanding of them.

Zell's Fists of Fury
06-19-2006, 12:24 AM
Find a list of chords on the internet and start learning the basics of those in the next two weeks.

Mythra
06-19-2006, 12:29 AM
Ok I'll start with the chords then thx. My only problem is I can't get my guitar in tune. The amp pack I bought came with a tuner, but everytime I try to use it, it always acts real funny. For instance, I'll pick the string I'm trying to get in tune, the little red light will come on telling me its not in tune, so I turn it to get it in tune, and nothing seems to happen, or it will go all the way to the right or left (on the LCD of the tuner) and barely ever hit green. So right now, tuning is my biggest problem besides knowing how to play.

Venom
06-19-2006, 12:57 AM