PDA

View Full Version : Buying a system just for DoS?

ValiantKnight
06-19-2006, 06:38 PM
I've been kinda interested in playing DoS to see the 4 new dungeons and all the new stuff, but I don't have a GBA, just a PS, PS2, SNES and a PC atm.(sold the N64 to someone, NES broke)

I may have a Gameboy collecting dust somewhere that my friend left over here he claims.

However, do you think its worth it to buy a GBA or whatever I need to play FF: DoS, or should I stick with FF: Origins that I own for the PS.

I have beaten FF1 about 6-8 times with different parties. Easy mode and Normal Mode. I have a 99 master and enjoy his supreme defense.

anyway back on topic. Do you think FF1:DoS warrants buying the system to play it on, and if so, where is the cheapest I could find something to play it on.

I've found DoS for 24.99, but can't find a system that plays it for less than 90$

Thats a bit steep for one remake of a game I already own.
But are the extras worth it?

Flying Mullet
06-19-2006, 06:41 PM
I think it would be worth it, but that's because you can currently play FFI, II and IV on the GBA and will be able to play FFV and VI on the GBA in the near future.

ValiantKnight
06-19-2006, 07:31 PM
any idea on where to find a GBA cheaply or whatever that new DS... ? is that plays GBA games.

Flying Mullet
06-19-2006, 07:36 PM
Yes, the DS plays the GBA games, but it will not play the old Gamboy and Gameboy Color games. You can find them real cheap at any used game store or ebay.

DJZen
06-19-2006, 08:11 PM
GBA and DS both have an awesome library of great games, so you wouldn't have to buy either JUST for DoS. Here's a few reccomendations for both:

GBA:
Gunstar Super Heroes
Final Fantasy IV Advance
Shining Force: Ressurection of the Dark Dragon
Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga
Metroid Fusion
Castlevania series

DS:
New Super Mario Bros.
Final Fantasy III (when it comes out)
Puyo Pop Fever
Kirby: Canvas Curse
Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrows
Pheonix Wright: Ace Attourney