PDA

View Full Version : $600 PS3

fantasyjunkie
07-10-2006, 12:46 AM
I have been playing games for almost 30 years now. Ever since the 80's I have tried to get every system that came out because I love gaming so much. But I'm afraid i'm gonna have to pass on the PS3. There is just no way I can afford $600. and that's before taxes and no games.
Sony is saying it's a deal because it has blue ray but the fact still stands I can't afford $600. I'm hoping in a couple of years the price will come down.

Erdrick Holmes
07-10-2006, 01:02 AM
Sony claims the PS3's firmware will last 20 years.

I call bull/xxx.gif/xxx.gif/xxx.gif/xxx.gifs.

DJZen
07-10-2006, 01:06 AM
Oh I'm hoping that too. I'm not one of these rabid "OMG BOYCOTT TEH SONAY!" fanboys, but the way they've been acting lately is just ridiculous. I take consolation in the fact that it's totally biting them in the rear (the controversy over the racist PSP ad, the success of the DS, being considered the joke of E3 '06), but I figure every console has something to offer. ...Well, maybe not the game.com, but you know what I mean. In that regard, I want a PS3. However, I am NOT willing to pay $600 for something that will be outmoded in 5 years, or $500 for something that will be considered outmoded before that. I've also heard other rumors which are very disturbing. I don't know how true any of them are (they all sound like total financial suicide, and even though Sony is good for that (Betamax, MiniDisc, UMD movies...), I don't think they're THAT stupid), but I've heard all of the following:

Games will be license key based, meaning you can only play a game on one PS3. If your PS3 dies, you can't play your games on your replacement PS3.

Game and video stores will not be allowed to rent PS3 games to customers or sell pre-owned games (mainly this ties in with the first rumor).