PDA

View Full Version : ps1 vs snes?

asukaevaunit02
08-05-2006, 04:45 PM
im wanted to play chrono trigger agian the other day , and was wondering which platform i should play it ot, i have finished it once on ps1, but i can only play that on the tv in the living romm coz its NTSC, but i started playing it on my laptop again. the ps1 verson runs slow because the disc is a little scratched where as the snes runs much faster

what are the advantages/disadvantages of each, i know theres some extra features on the ps1 verson, though i havnt unlocked all of them

silentenigma
08-05-2006, 09:17 PM
no, it doesn't run slowly on the ps1 because your disk is scratched; the PS1 port always has long load times.

I honestly can't stand playing it on the playstation because of the long, long, long wait to open the menu and start a battle; just play it on the snes or your computer. It'll run very smoothly. If there are any unlockable features on the ps1, they probably aren't worth it anyway.

Zechs
08-06-2006, 04:21 AM
I thought the unlockables were ok. All the games music, few unused. The newly added animated cut-sceens. And the fact you can record your endings instead of playing and getting A ending.

Though its up to you. Yes the PSX version is a poor port as of load times, but is good for added features. The SNES/Emulator Is put together much more smoothley but has no features other than just the game.

Sefie1999AD
08-06-2006, 11:24 AM
I'd get the SNES version because it plays a lot more smoothly. The PSX version has terrible loading times from what I've heard, and that alone is a good reason not to play the PSX version. I also personally hate the ending FMV and the extra ending FMV, but I'm not going to rant about them any more this time.

edczxcvbnm
08-06-2006, 07:51 PM
I want to point out that the PSX version just runs slower in general. Most big spells you will cast such as Luminare will have their sound clip finish well before the actual spell.

Necronopticous