PDA

View Full Version : Confused Beyond Reasonable Endurance

Vippy G
10-08-2006, 07:09 PM
Okay, I admit it. I have no clue what I'm doing. I have never in my life played a Final Fantasy game or even seen one being played. And that's why I'm so confused.

I'm a huge Kingdom Hearts addict and have heard time and time again about how wonderful the FF series is. So when I remembered that my birthday was coming up (yes, I had actually forgotten) and my mother asked what I would like, I quickly told her that I would like a Final Fantasy game. She looked at me, visibly confused, but nonetheless searched 'final fantasy' on the walmart video games section (actually, she searched 'final fantsy', but I doubt she would like me to mention that). And mass confusion met my eyes.

My point, you ask? I'm a complete and total newb. Actually, I'm lower than a newb, whatever that is. Where should I start? I'm in possession of a PS2, GBA XP, and Windows XP computer, so which game should I get first?

rubah
10-08-2006, 07:34 PM
Start with ffx, play the sequel, then work your way backwards.

It'll probably be best if you start off renting them, unless you're terribly dedicated!

Shoeberto
10-08-2006, 07:38 PM

It'll probably be best if you start off renting them, unless you're terribly dedicated!
Personally, I think FFX sets up poor expectations for the rest of the series.

FFVII or VI is probably a better starting point. It could be debated to death, though.

o_O
10-08-2006, 08:25 PM
I would start with VII. It inspired me to play the whole series.

Don't start with anything before IV, they'd probably deter you before you get to know the mechanics of the games.

KentaRawr!
10-08-2006, 08:50 PM
Hard to say, really. I'd go with FF1 & 2: Dawn of Souls. Somehow, I found them to be the most "fun" of the series. But the FF games with the best story and presentation... well, I'd say FF6, FF7, and FF9. :p

Decessus
10-08-2006, 08:50 PM
I started with Final Fantasy 7.

rubah
10-08-2006, 09:08 PM