PDA

View Full Version : Copyright help *please*

-Red XIII-
10-17-2006, 10:28 PM
I made a 8-+ page story that I wanna copyright. now, do I need to send in the whole 80+ pages to the copyright place (chamber of commerce, i beleive), or can I send in a disc with the memory of the story on it? I really wanna send in a disc, because 80+ pages is alot on our printer. And I've already gone to official sites and they have no info. does anyone know?

Dr Unne
10-17-2006, 11:17 PM
What country do you live in? I think you automatically have a copyright on anything you create, if you live in the US.

-Red XIII-
10-18-2006, 12:04 AM
US. You get a copyright on anything you make?

Dr Unne
10-18-2006, 12:18 AM
I'm no lawyer, but that is my understanding. If you're really concerned, there are lawyers who deal specifically with copyright law.

rubah
10-18-2006, 12:58 AM
You own the copywrite to something that you create when you have created it.

However, if someone can prove beyond a reason of a doubt that they had your material before you can (uploading to a website and having it on your harddrive are dismissed because they can be tampered with. Beyond a doubt means stuff like writing it to a disc then having a government agency (usually people will mail it to themselves and leave the envelope sealed) verify the date:)) then they will be honored as the copywrite holder, even if you really did make it. You have to have a way to prove you did *when* you did.

Don't bother wasting $25 on filing a copywrite claim unless you're *really* paranoid :)

eestlinc
10-18-2006, 06:05 AM
yea you have the copyright now. Just put a copyright symbol and the date on the first page. Unless you are trying to get it published I wouldn't worry about anything more than that.

Endless
10-18-2006, 06:22 AM
If you are in the US:
http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/

Gotta love their sense of humor, too:

<b>How do I protect my sighting of Elvis?</b>