PDA

View Full Version : Sephiroth used in another game?

Rean_The_Exiled
11-02-2006, 03:30 PM
Yep, i just started playing Tales of the Abyss when all of a sudden they use Sephiroth as a term! I forgot what is is though but dang; sure suprised me and the game is by Bandai/Namco.

Ryushikaze
11-02-2006, 04:16 PM
::fingertwirl:: Whooo...

The term WELL predates FF7, and it's unsurprising that Tales, which tends to borrow religious concepts, would use it.

Kawaii Ryűkishi
11-02-2006, 05:25 PM
Yeah, the Sephiroth is the Kabbalistic embodiment of ten main aspects of God. Off the top of my head, it's also referenced in Xenogears and the anime Evangelion.

Jowy
11-02-2006, 05:36 PM
http://www.thelemapedia.org/images/9/97/Treeoflife0.gif

^ visualization

Ryushikaze
11-02-2006, 08:35 PM
You can also find it in Full Metal Alchemist on the door to truth.

Keyblade Hybrid
11-06-2006, 01:57 AM
Well since Sephiroth is really not a logo or name owned by a company...is it possible to use the name on other products without being pulled in by law?

Zeromus_X
11-06-2006, 02:15 AM
The final floor of the Spiral Tower looks just like the Tree of Life.

Er, yeah, anyway, I don't think they'll get in trouble as they aren't even using the character Sephiroth himself, they're using a religious concept which has been referenced in many forms of media, and will be referenced in the future.

Orophin
11-06-2006, 02:21 AM
Why do you think Square took the name Sephiroth for the bad guy of FFVII? It's because Sephiroth wants to become one and that a sephiroth, if I remember correctly, is something related to god. They didn't create the word Sephiroth.

~SapphireStar~
11-06-2006, 04:22 PM
I never knew Sephiroth was an actual word. Learn something new every day.

MJN SEIFER
11-06-2006, 06:29 PM