PDA

View Full Version : HelloWorld.java

Sylvie
11-08-2006, 03:05 AM
Okay so I have this book called: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner. I typed in this on notepad:

/*
* Hello World
* The classic first program
*/

public class HelloWorld {

public static void main(String args[]) {
System.out.println("Hello, world!");
}

}

So, the thing says to compile it. It makes me install Java SDK and this crap that doesn't work on my computer.

What I'm wondering is, is there a way to compile this stuff without going on the command prompt?
</pre>

Dr Unne
11-08-2006, 03:37 AM
So, the thing says to compile it. It makes me install Java SDK and this crap that doesn't work on my computer.

What I'm wondering is, is there a way to compile this stuff without going on the command prompt?
</pre>

The command line is by far the easiest way. What kind of problem are you getting when trying via the command prompt?

Sylvie
11-08-2006, 03:54 AM
Well, the book says to enter "javac HelloWorld.java" in the directory where you saved it. I keep getting an error and the thing isn't working.

Dr Unne
11-08-2006, 04:09 AM
Well, the book says to enter "javac HelloWorld.java" in the directory where you saved it. I keep getting an error and the thing isn't working.

What is the error? That's the thing I actually need to know.

Sylvie
11-08-2006, 04:19 AM
Alright, so the default directory is:

C:\Documents and Settings\Genji>

I put in:

C:\Documents and Settings\Genji> cd My Documents

Because thats where the file is located.

So I do that, and now its

C:\Documents and Settings\Genji\My Documents>

Now I put:

C:\Documents and Settings\Genji\My Documents>javac HelloWorld.java
'javac' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

So thats the message I get.

Dr Unne
11-08-2006, 04:37 AM
The problem is that javac is not on your $PATH. run

echo $PATH