PDA

View Full Version : Mathematical SOS!

Cless
12-06-2006, 11:31 PM
I'm not good at maths. Don't get me wrong, it's cool and all but just I suck at it. Now, take this ability at maths and combine it with the fact that I've been given two (what I see as hard) mathematical questions to answer and one has a little problem. So I was kinda hoping that some kind soul at EOFF could put a poor person out of their number induced misery and help me out. I'm really at the end of my tether with these questions, I don't even know where to begin in trying to tackle them. If anyone can flex their big sexy mathematical muscles and help me out, I would be very grateful!

1. When it is time for a Space Shuttle to come in for a landing, it needs to re-enter the Earth's atmosphere at the right time and place so that it can land successfully at the designated landing strip. Depending on the Shuttle's altitude, it's de-orbit burn must occur for the correct length of time for the Shuttle to begin its descent at the right speed and in the correct location. The de-orbit burn is done against the direction of travel. The Shuttle keeps going in the same direction but slows down due to the drag on the spacecraft as it enters the atmosphere.

De-orbit manoeuvres are usually done to lower the perigee of the orbit to 60 miles (or less). The Orbiter is captured and re-enters as it passes into the atmosphere at this altitude. There is a change of 1 mile for every 2 feet per second (fps) change in velocity when you are below a 500-mile altitude above the Earth.

Determine the change in velocity (delta-V) that the Shuttle will need to make if it is at an altitude of 220 miles above the Earth at apogee and 215 miles above the Earth at perigee, and needs to drop the perigee to an altitude of 60 miles.

Your answer needs to be in feet per second.