PDA

View Full Version : New books please!

Captain Maxx Power
12-12-2006, 01:28 PM
Has anyone got any recommendations in terms of books I could read to entertain me whilst I'm on the tube? I'm a huge fan of the Wheel of Time as has previously been mentioned, though obviously it's hard to know what books are in the same vein from reading the blurb on the back.

Bunny
12-12-2006, 02:40 PM
The Time Master Trilogy (The Initiate, The Outcast, The Master) by Louise Cooper if you can find it. Great books. I'm not very good with summaries, but I'll say it is basically a battle between the forces of Good and Evil. But the lines are kind of blurred and hard to see.

Runelords by David Farland is also a good series. The Sum of All Men, Brotherhood of the Wolf, Wizardborn and Throne of Bone is the first series of books. Those should be easier to find and they provide a longer read (each book is roughly two times the size of Time Master)

Um. The Highwayman by R.A. Salvatore is a great and enjoyable read. Pretty quick too, despite being a fairly decent length of pages. I recommend anything by Salvatore though.

I'm spent. I'll come up with a few more later. :P

Resha
12-12-2006, 03:15 PM
Wizard's First Rule by Terry Goodkind, and the books that follow in the series. :) If you like WoT, you might just as well like this! Stuff by a guy called George R. R. Martin, the Shannara series by a guy called Terry...Brooks? (I'm not sure about this!)

Pike
12-12-2006, 08:15 PM
The "His Dark Materials" trilogy by Phillip Pullman.

Also, Watership Down, and anything by Dostoyevsky (if you're feeling adventurous).

Necronopticous
12-12-2006, 08:30 PM
"Where the Wild Things Are" by Maurice Sendak

XxSephirothxX
12-12-2006, 08:32 PM
George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series, Stephen King's Dark Tower, or maybe The Lord of the Rings? Just the first fantasy suggestions that come to mind.

Spammerman
12-12-2006, 08:41 PM
I demand you read the Rangers Apprentice and Bartimaeus Trilogy!