Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: What were the characteristics of your favorite teacher?

Articles
    Contributions
    • Created Eyes on Final Fantasy
    • Former Administrator

Default What were the characteristics of your favorite teacher?

Since I'm a teacher and I want to be memorable, I'd like to know.

For the record, I teach seventh grade World History.

..a Russian mountain cat. Yamaneko's Avatar
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight

My favorite teachers were the ones that wanted or at least seemed to want to be in the classroom everyday. There were too many of them that were their for the paycheck and it showed.

And speaking from hindsight as a more mature individual, don't be their friends. We had those teachers and that quality was exploited until the entire classroom experience had been stripped away in favor of accommodating the needs of the students instead of the requirements of the curriculum.

Just be there, enjoy it and share that with your students.

First thing, try not to make your class a monotone speech. Try to make it a little interactive.

But about characteristics... well, maybe to be careful, consider your students opinions, don't be so harsh but also don't be so sweet. Also be gentle, with a fair load of homework. In your classes, make your students participate with some questions, opinions about situations in history, and maybe sometimes recreate the situations. But yeah, don't try to be friends with them, they'll become lazy if you do.

Well, to tell you the truth, that were the characteristics of my favorite teacher. So yeah.

Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight