Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do you level up too high?

Default Do you level up too high?

Does anyone else here find many RPG games too easy to level up in? Maybe it's because I started playing RPG games with the first Dragon Warrior, which required hours of leveling up to progress anywhere - because I always level up way too high.

I'm currently playing through FFVII for the first time. I just got to the Temple of the Ancients (almost at the end of Disk 1), and already Cloud is at level 40. I didn't even try to level up this high. I've even fled from hundreds of battles to stop characters from leveling up too high, but I'm still leveling more than I want. This results in the game being much too easy. I hate when RPG games are not a challenge! Probably the main reason I have this problem is because I always like to spend time in each area to see all the monsters, steal from all the monsters, manipulate all the monsters, etc.

Who else out here has the same issue with RPG games?
    Last edited by Lightning Hunter; 03-13-2008 at 06:27 AM.

I am the Queen of Unintentional Leveling. Like you, my Cloud & co were over level 40 by the end of the first disc.
    For me, it always happens on first playthroughs, probably cause I get lost and end up fighting millions of extra monsters.
    Quote Originally Posted by Christmas View Post
    Quin is wrong and LALA is right.

over leveling is always better than under leveling.

Quote Originally Posted by dodhungry View Post
    QFT
    Especially in the earlier FF's. Not so much, but still better, in later FF's.

I enjoy more of a challenge though. Besides, it's always easy to level up if you suddenly find yourself unable to progress further without dying.

I haven't had to spend extra time anywhere in FFVII yet to level up. After I complete all there is to complete in one area, I'm always on a higher level than I probably should be.