Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem with Boss

Default Problem with Boss

i just started playing FF IX and i can seem to beat the boss in the Ice Cavern. I know is in the beginning of the game but i just started playing. I would like to know what level i should be at for Zidane and what items i will need. i if you could a good strategy for beating it.

Articles
    Blog Entries
    Contributions
    • Former Editor

It's been a good while since I've played, but I think level 7 sounds like it should be right. the thing to do for this is to take down the Waltz first and steal from the ice lion until you get a mythril dagger. You're trance meter should trigger during the begginning of the battle and you should have Tidal Wave if you got Mage Masher in the begginning. Use tidal wave to kill Waltz and hit Ice lion with everything you have. You would have to heal with a potion a couple of times though.

Very VIP person Tech Admin Rantz's Avatar
    Articles

I've never had a problem with the Waltz and Ice Lion. I usually just steal the Waltz's two items (Silk Shirt and Remedy), and then kill him off—if you kill the Ice Lion first, the Waltz will just resummon it—then steal from the Ice Lion (Mythril Dagger and Ether) and kill it off. Heal with potions and hi-potions when necessary.

thanks i beat the waltz and beat waltz 2 and 3. the next two were a lot easier.

Articles

That was quick!

yah the game isint that hard im only having a problem going to bermucia. the enemies in side the cave between the mountain are hard. im like level 13 i dont see the problom

Wow, I can't even remember anything about the boss to be honest. I guess I'll have to play the game again. The last time I did this, I barely managed to get Excalibur II, but then stopped afterwards.

i beat that too so not prob

red headed monkey dude sir helix's Avatar

keep your health up and just atk till you inter trance, then KILL the black waltz. the seal goes pretty quik after that.