Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DOS Mouse Drivers

  1. #1
    Super-Rad Spatvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    The Mysterious Island of Bigfoot Women
    Posts
    2,099
    Articles
    7
    Contributions
    • Former Cid's Knight
    • Former Senior Site Staff

    Default DOS Mouse Drivers

    Umm, this is quite an odd one actually, but I've been trying to play some of my older games and have discovered that they can only be run in DOS. This throws up one major problem. Games like Syndicate and Ultima VI all require mice, but I don't have any DOS mice drivers. Does anyone here have any, preferably 3 button ones, or does anyone know where I can download one?
    Seriously the best band in the world.
    And here's where I'll stay / For ten years and a day
    We're on a quest to find hidden treasure / And mystery on The Wild Sea

  2. #2
    Your worst wet nightmare Squally Leonharty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Maastricht, the Netherlands
    Posts
    314
    Contributions
    • Notable contributions to former Help Forum

    Default

    Simply create a start-up diskette, which allows you to boot into DOS mode with Mouse support and start the games from DOS.

  3. #3
    Hypnotising you crono_logical's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Back in Time
    Posts
    9,313
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight

    Default

    If Windows lets you reboot to a command prompt from it's shutdown menu and the games run from there, the mouse drivers should load automatically, if not, typing MOUSE at the command prompt will usually do the trick.

    Or try booting to a Command Prompt Only (not safe mode) at the Windows Boot Menu (I don't think it'll work in XP), then type MOUSE at the prompt there, and the drivers should load automatically
    Problems playing downloaded videos? Try CCCP


  4. #4
    Scottie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    412
    Articles
    3
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator

    Default

    The problem might not even be that. Reboot your comp and enter your BIOS. Most of the time there's an option for DOS mouse support right there, either disabled or enabled.

  5. #5
    Not responsible for WWI Citizen Bleys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The Wired
    Posts
    8,502
    Articles
    7
    Blog Entries
    60

    FFXIV Character

    Bleys Maynard (Sargatanas)
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight

    Default

    You can get a small DOS-mode mouse driver (if that's what you're after) from www.wcnews.com. It doesn't take up much conventional memory. I believe it's called ctmouse.zip, so you should be able to use wcnews's search feature to find it.

  6. #6
    ORANGE Dr Unne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    7,393
    Articles
    1
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Developer
    • Former Tech Admin

    Default

    DOS used to come with MOUSE.COM, I think. Do what everyone else said. Just try typing MOUSE in DOS somewhere.

    Ahhhh, nostalgia.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •