Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Spaces not working in quote

  1. #1
    Krankzinnigheid ligt dich Colonel Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    The Miami of Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Articles
    81
    Blog Entries
    4
    Contributions
    • Former Editor

    Default Spaces not working in quote

    When I quote a post & try to type something in response, the spacebar won't work. Works fine when I create my own post, just not for quotes.

  2. #2
    Sh♥tposter Extraordinaire Jinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    21,545
    Articles
    4
    Blog Entries
    14

    FFXIV Character

    Winter Arcana (Sargatanas)

    Default

    Same thing for me. It does work if you go in and edit your post, though.
    mfw you post

  3. #3
    Crazy Scot. Cid's Knight Shauna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In the land of Scots
    Posts
    20,404
    Articles
    52
    Blog Entries
    1

    FFXIV Character

    Sheetle Bug (Sargatanas)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
    Same thing for me. It does work if you go in and edit your post, though.
    I am not sure what the issue is, works fine for me.

    What skin are you using, browser, etc?

  4. #4
    Krankzinnigheid ligt dich Colonel Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    The Miami of Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Articles
    81
    Blog Entries
    4
    Contributions
    • Former Editor

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shauna View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
    Same thing for me. It does work if you go in and edit your post, though.
    I am not sure what the issue is, works fine for me.

    What skin are you using, browser, etc?
    I'musingXIV.

    Edit:See ^ & Sam is right about the editing.

  5. #5
    Crazy Scot. Cid's Knight Shauna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In the land of Scots
    Posts
    20,404
    Articles
    52
    Blog Entries
    1

    FFXIV Character

    Sheetle Bug (Sargatanas)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Colonel Angus View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Shauna View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
    Same thing for me. It does work if you go in and edit your post, though.
    I am not sure what the issue is, works fine for me.

    What skin are you using, browser, etc?
    I'musingXIV.

    Edit:See ^ & Sam is right about the editing.
    You mean Fifteen? I am fine there too. What browser? :3

  6. #6
    Sh♥tposter Extraordinaire Jinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    21,545
    Articles
    4
    Blog Entries
    14

    FFXIV Character

    Winter Arcana (Sargatanas)

    Default

    Chrome, Aeris Reborn
    mfw you post

  7. #7
    Crazy Scot. Cid's Knight Shauna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In the land of Scots
    Posts
    20,404
    Articles
    52
    Blog Entries
    1

    FFXIV Character

    Sheetle Bug (Sargatanas)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jinx View Post
    Chrome, Aeris Reborn
    I am struggling to recreate your issue. xD I've been able to do spaces in three separate skins, and two different browsers.

    Maybe someone with more tech savvy can take over from here.

  8. #8
    Krankzinnigheid ligt dich Colonel Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    The Miami of Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Articles
    81
    Blog Entries
    4
    Contributions
    • Former Editor

    Default

    I'm using Chrome & yes, XV.

  9. #9
    Very VIP person Tech Admin Rantz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NorthernChaosGod
    Posts
    17,623
    Articles
    1

    Default

    I can reproduce it in the WYSIWYG editor, but not the plaintext editor. Interestingly, when I switch to the plaintext editor and back again, it works again.

    Don't have time to figure out how to fix it right now, sorry. Maybe during the weekend.
    My name is , I am God , and wine, and a pool of cancer -century Arab rantzyen

  10. #10
     Master of the Fork Cid's Knight Freya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Yer pants
    Posts
    25,050
    Articles
    269
    Blog Entries
    34

    FFXIV Character

    Freya Meow (Sargatanas)

    Default

    I had this happen to me yesterday. I'm on simplified light, only when quoting.

  11. #11

    Default

    I'mhavingthisproblemtoo.I'vefoundthebestwaytofixistorefreshthepage.

    Usingthethistheme:


  12. #12
    'Just Friends' Formalhaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Glenwood
    Posts
    13,304
    Articles
    54
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    I will just chip in to say I get this as well. Chrome, using the Old Skool (ugh, school with a 'k') skin. It's fine when I'm not quoting, but when I quote, I cannot use spaces once I've hit enter twice to write below the quote. Interestingly, not pressing space and writing immediately after the quote allows me to use spaces. It's... finicky, for the moment, but serviceable.


  13. #13
    Crazy Scot. Cid's Knight Shauna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    In the land of Scots
    Posts
    20,404
    Articles
    52
    Blog Entries
    1

    FFXIV Character

    Sheetle Bug (Sargatanas)

    Default

    As Rantz seems to have worked out, the problem is the WYSIWYG editor (unless some of you aren't using this one, then we have a whole new problem) - until we get this sorted, a temp fix would be switching to the simple editor via the settings page. Or power through using the little fixes you've all worked out for yourselves!

    I'll see if we can get someone to look into this.

  14. #14
    Very VIP person Tech Admin Rantz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NorthernChaosGod
    Posts
    17,623
    Articles
    1

    Default

    I stumbled upon another weird workaround - if you just type a line break and then move back up a line (leaving the line break below) you can use spaces again. Weirdest bug.

    Still haven't had the time/energy to really dig into this.
    My name is , I am God , and wine, and a pool of cancer -century Arab rantzyen

  15. #15
    Very VIP person Tech Admin Rantz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NorthernChaosGod
    Posts
    17,623
    Articles
    1

    Default

    Did some googling and found this: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...rking-on-reply

    It seems there won't be any fix for this issue from their end unless they stumble upon some quick solution. There may possibly be a fix in Chrome at some point if it is indeed a browser bug. Until then, probably not much we can do aside from use workarounds and wait, or switch to another forum software (which I don't think is in the cards right now).

    In other news, seems vBulletin's support team is keeping up their tradition of acting like petulant children - though some of the other posters there are too, to be fair. Still, it baffles me that any company handles customer service like that.
    My name is , I am God , and wine, and a pool of cancer -century Arab rantzyen

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •