Thread: Which version of Linux is the best?

Articles
    Blog Entries

FFXIV Character

Baloki Kyuu (Sargatanas)
    Contributions
    • Former Senior Site Staff

Default Which version of Linux is the best?

Do specs matter?
    FOA

Articles
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Developer
    • Former Tech Admin

What specs?

I like Gentoo, but no distro is "the best". They're all different and meant for different people with different requirements and skill-levels.

Articles
    Blog Entries

FFXIV Character

Baloki Kyuu (Sargatanas)
    Contributions

I meant like 955mhz processer, etc for specs.

Also I have basic knowledge.....
    FOA

Articles
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Developer
    • Former Tech Admin

955MHz is more than fast enough. What do you want Linux for? Do you want something easy to set up for newbies? Do you want to really learn how Linux works (and how your computer works, in the process) and don't mind spending a week just to install it? Do you want something ultra-stable, or do you want something bleeding-edge? Do you want complete control over every detail of your computer, or do you want a distro to take care of everything for you? Pick a distro and go start reading their support forums and see how you like it. Go read the forums here: http://www.justlinux.com/. I went through Redhat, Madrake, Redhat again many times, the Linux From Scratch, and finally Gentoo.

If you REALLY want to learn, do Linux From Scratch, here http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/ . You will likely completely screw up and end up with a horrible unusable mess, but you'll learn so much doing it that you'll be able to make a better choice of what you want / need.

Not responsible for WWI Citizen Bleys's Avatar
    Articles
    Blog Entries

FFXIV Character

Bleys Maynard (Sargatanas)
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight