Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Run > MSConfig

  1. #1
    Away Founder Cid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    In your tree.
    Posts
    2,049
    Articles
    141
    Contributions
    • Created Eyes on Final Fantasy
    • Former Administrator

    Default Run > MSConfig

    What would happen if I went in to edit my services and I unselected all of the things is the Services tab?

    I already did it in the Start Up tab... something that everyone should do.

  2. #2
    ..a Russian mountain cat. Yamaneko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    15,898
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight

    Default

    Your system would probably startup, but nothing would work. No network connections, no themes, no printing, no plug and play, etc.

    If you want to know exactly what a service does go into Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services. If you double click on the service it'll tell you what its function is.

  3. #3
    ORANGE Dr Unne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    7,392
    Articles
    1
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Developer
    • Former Tech Admin

    Default

    Some services are necessary even to use your computer I think. I wouldn't go disabling things unless you know what it does.

    Did you mean to make this in the help forum?

  4. #4
    Newbie Administrator Loony BoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Edinbugger
    Posts
    51,904
    Articles
    53
    Blog Entries
    19

    FFXIV Character

    Loony Bob (Sargatanas)

    Default

    What if I don't know what something in the startup tab does?
    Bow before the mighty Javoo!

  5. #5
    Hypnotising you crono_logical's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Back in Time
    Posts
    9,313
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loony BoB
    What if I don't know what something in the startup tab does?
    Work it out then You can see the .exe it's pointing to, so either the path will contain the name of what it might be, e.g. Mozilla, or find the .exe in Explorer and look at it's properties - most will give basic information like the company that made it, a version number and a description of what it does. Last resort is google for it, if you think it's something you haven't installed
    Problems playing downloaded videos? Try CCCP


  6. #6
    Away Founder Cid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    In your tree.
    Posts
    2,049
    Articles
    141
    Contributions
    • Created Eyes on Final Fantasy
    • Former Administrator

    Default

    You can turn everything off in Start up and things will work fine. Some things, however, you may want to start... like AIM or real player or something... although I'm not sure why you would want that stuff to open automatically. Taking them off start up speeds up your system performance so much. I'd rather just choose to open them instead of being forced to.

    Edit: What forum did I post this in?

  7. #7
    ORANGE Dr Unne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    7,392
    Articles
    1
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Developer
    • Former Tech Admin

    Default

    Feedback forum.

    I have obliterated an XP system by disabling too many Services. Though some Services should be disabled just because of security hazards or annoyance, like Messenger. I'd probably be afraid to disable too many things now. If a program sets itself to run at startup, then it should have an in-program option to disable it. Hand-deleting things out of some obscure startup registry or service menu is an ugly hack with unpredictable results, which is typical of Windows I suppose.

  8. #8
    ..a Russian mountain cat. Yamaneko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    15,898
    Contributions
    • Former Administrator
    • Former Cid's Knight

    Default

    Messing around in the BIOS is usually a good way to speed up system startup.

  9. #9
    Last Exile Baloki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dreaming a dream~
    Posts
    8,416
    Articles
    5
    Blog Entries
    2

    FFXIV Character

    Baloki Kyuu (Sargatanas)
    Contributions
    • Former Senior Site Staff

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loony BoB
    What if I don't know what something in the startup tab does?
    Delete windows and install Linux
    FOA

  10. #10
    Newbie Administrator Loony BoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Edinbugger
    Posts
    51,904
    Articles
    53
    Blog Entries
    19

    FFXIV Character

    Loony Bob (Sargatanas)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Baloki
    Delete windows and install Linux
    Yes, because then I would know what everything does.
    Bow before the mighty Javoo!

  11. #11
    Silent Emotion Rainecloud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,339
    Articles
    70
    Contributions
    • Former Site Staff

    Default

    I've messed with MSConfig in the past. My advice is as follows: Don't.

    It's not worth it unless you know exactly what you're doing.
    "As the days go by, we face the increasing inevitability that we are alone in a godless,
    uninhabited, hostile and meaningless universe. Still, you've got to laugh, haven't you?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •