Quote Originally Posted by Raistlin
xD - that'd be a pretty odd rule.

The "ground can't cause a fumble" rule is only significant when someone is being tackled. For instance, when Randal El on that one punt return <i>dove</i> threw the air, was practically killed, and then fell, his forearm hit the ground and the ball popped out. However, the forearm counts as being down - thus, no fumble.

If Hasselbeck hadn't been touched and just dove/fell to the ground, and wasn't down by contact, the ball and the play are still live.
Hasselbeck was clearly touched, although it was a minor touch while he was already in the act of falling.

Also, the holding call on that pass Jerramy Stevens caught at the 1 yard line was total crap.